From the catalogs of babes











{September 23, 2009}   We are all consumers

Today we received 101 Charts About Men, so I was looking up other titles with similar subject headings to see where the topic was classed in our collection. I found quite a few books with the heading

Male consumers   (May Subd Geog)  [R S D]
UF  Men consumers [Former Heading]
BT  Consumers

I thought this was strange, considering LC’s propensity for parallel structure–I distinctly recalled the equivalent heading

Women consumers   (May Subd Geog)  [R S D]
UF  Women as consumers [Former Heading]
BT  Consumers
NT  Lesbian consumers  [R]

If headings are parallel shouldn’t it be “Female consumers”? Or “Men consumers”? There’s not even a UF reference for “Women consumers.”

And then it reminded me of one of my all-time favorite headings:

Child consumers   (May Subd Geog)  [R S D]
UF  Children as consumers [Former Heading]
BT  Consumers

I certainly hope the Library of Congress wasn’t thinking the same thing I was thinking when they came up with that heading…

Leave a Reply

et cetera
