From the catalogs of babes











{July 21, 2009}   wearing the instruction hat for a change

Since we’re a relatively small college library, many of us wear many hats. In addition to cataloging (which is of course the majority of my job) I also shelve, work shifts at the reference desk and give presentations about how to use the library and the library’s online services (a little thing most libraries like to call “bibliographic instruction”).

Sometimes I get frustrated being on the technical services side of things, yet still saddled with the responsibility for such tasks. It’s not that I can’t do them or feel that I’m incompetent. I actually think I handle it just fine. I’m no stranger to teaching and presenting. Not to sound like I’m tooting my own horn, but with parents who were both teachers, years of experience as a camp counselor, leading storytime at Barnes & Noble, assisting teachers at an elementary school, even teaching sewing and costuming classes, I have little doubt in my presentation skill and teaching ability. It’s not my first choice of how I like to spend my time–if it was, I would have focused on that in grad school instead of things like classification and vocabulary design.

But it’s still nice when, upon completing a presentation about the library’s reserach databases, the instructor says, “Thanks. That’s the best presentation I’ve had yet.”

Leave a Reply

et cetera
