From the catalogs of babes











{June 16, 2009}   look what else I found!
The American Archivist, vol. 72, no. 1, Spring/Smmer 2009
The American Archivist, vol. 72, no. 1, Spring/Summer 2009
Look what I found in my mailbox! The current issue of The American Archivist! And what in the world does that have to do with cataloging, or this blog? Well, not all that much, but there is one little thing…
americanarchivistarticle
Yeah, that’s me. “Preservation of Mixed-Format Archival Collections: A Case Study of the Ann Getty Fashion Collection at the Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising” is my first professional publication, so I felt like tooting my own horn a bit anyway, even though this case study isn’t about cataloging. (I did write the MARC record for the collection, if that’s any consolation.) Rest assured, the next one will certainly be more cataloging-oriented–and I can reliably promise that, because I just so happen to be currently working on a chapter about cataloging for an upcoming book about art & design school libraries, which as y’all should know, is right up my alley.
Gina says:

YAY!!! Congrats on the publication! And thanks for sharing. I’ll have to hit up some archival friends so that I can read a copy of the article.



[…] the idea to the group slowly, perhaps with an announcement at the next meeting in February about my forthcoming book chapter about cataloging for art school users. It also makes me wonder if maybe the time isn’t right to pitch a session on user-based arts […]



Leave a Reply

et cetera
