From the catalogs of babes











{May 12, 2009}   blink for just a second…

So last week I moved into a new place. What does this have to do with a blog about cataloging? Nothing. But I did find it interesting that in the few days I was jonesing for my internet crack fix, several very interesting things popped up:

It never fails that all the good, juicy stuff happens while I’m gone. I haven’t had much time yet to investigate details on any of these, but I’m pretty sure I’ll have some strong opinions once I do…

Booker says:

Huh. Fancy that.

Quote: “Librarians’ perspectives about data quality remain highly infl uenced by their profession’s classical principles of information organization, while end users’ expectations of data quality arise largely from their experiences of how information is organized on popular Web sites. What is needed now is to integrate the best of both worlds in new, expanded definitions of what ‘quality’ means in library online catalogs.”

I’m a little bugged by the apparent presumption that a successful catalog is entirely or mostly about data quality and not some other factor, especially for users, to whom UI, for one aspect, may well be more important. Will have to read a bit further, I suspect.



Ivy says:

You & me both, honey.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
