From the catalogs of babes











{January 14, 2009}   it’s a miracle!

Our library catalog is finally publically available online. We have been advocating for this for at least 3 years (since I started working here), and probably before that.

Please don’t laugh at it. Now you understand what I work with everyday. Believe me, I am doing everything in my power to make it better–fixing records, cleaning data, adding subject headings, gerry-rigging a sort-of-pseudo-authority control, advocating for software migration…  People will probably wonder how someone with such a back-ass-wards catalog has any credibility at all to talk about innovation and user-centered cataloging, when it’s clear neither is in practice. But I honestly think it’s my direct experience with a catalog that so clearly doesn’t serve it’s users that motivates me to pursue something better.

Gina says:

Congrats on getting the catalog up on the web! And thanks for blogging, I’m enjoying your perspective on Dewey, cataloging and fashion!



Ivy says:

Thanks Gina! It’s good to hear from you, and it means a lot coming from ArtCenter.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
